System of a Down Release First New Music In 15 Years

System of a Down has released new music, 15 years since the band released new songs.

Two singles, “Protect the Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz,” made their debut with proceeds from the music going to Armenia Fund. the group’s band members Serj Tankian, Daron Malakian, Shavo Odadjian and John Dolmayan are of Armenian descent.

The group wrote about the meaning of the two songs on BandCamp: “These two songs, “Protect The Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz” both speak of a dire and serious war being perpetrated upon our cultural homelands of Artsakh and Armenia. We’re proud to share these songs with you and hope you enjoy listening to them.” Azerbaijan and Armenia on Oct. 17 agreed to a “humanitarian ceasefire” in the conflict over the contested enclave of Nagorno Karabakh, which is called Artsakh by Armenians. 

System of a Down released their first album in 1998 and reached fame with their 2001 hit album, “Toxicity.”  In 2005 the band had two albums climb to No. 1.

System of a Down Release First New Songs in 15 Years: Stream


Editorial credit: A.PAES /